What I’m Thankful For

image

I was asked this question yesterday, but I had to formulate my response as the CEO of a non-profit. And while I truly believed the things that were listed in his blog, today is my day and I have been blessed in my own particular ways.

First and foremost, I am thankful for my family. There are times when I act like they don’t matter. For example, I am currently on a bus to Tampa to visit friends while they are visiting their families. But what I love about my family is that we don’t need each other on the holidays. We have each other when we need and are needed. I can look back on every problem and remember what I said in my call for help.

“Mom, I want you to know I love you and I’m alright, but I was just hit by a car.”

That must have been almost three years ago. Fortunately, it has been smooth sailing since and I am thankful for that.

Life has been going so smoothly that I feel almost feel like a success. I’m momentarily done with school and I’ve moved in the direction of a career. Last week I started my AmeriCorps position that suits me. In that short period of time, I have become aware of a number social issues I’ve been fortunate enough to avoid and I’ve already found ways to contribute. All of these things are influencing what I am capable of. I try not to brag about possessions, but I am thankful that I can accomplish all of this from my phone. The tools that are available for a growing journalist give me endless possibilities as I go forward.

So while you are all enjoying the day and reflecting things, I wish you the best.

And one last thing, I am thankful for my hyper metabolism that allows for me to enjoy this roadside feast of ice cream and Pepsi.

Happy Thanksgiving

About David

David has had one night stands a stand-up comic, comic book writer and a writer in general. Each night he debates texting them just to see how they are doing, but that would be creepy. His first job after college is waiting tables at Famous Dave's Barbeque. There is a good chance that he was hired only for the onslaught of bad jokes he'd have to endure every day. As long as the tips are good and he's allowed time off, he will continue to serve until one of his true loves returns his call. Please dear god, I've changed. Just give me another chance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

